Footloose 16th March 2011

I really loved it!

I wasn’t sure what to expect having never seen the film and not really heard or read a synopsis of it. But I booked it anyway, because it was a musical with dance in! I thought it would probably be similar to Fame and then when I saw the photograohs in the programme of the school gym, I thought it might also be a bit like Grease. And it sort of was like both, but really good in it’s own right. It was different. It was about a guy who, when his dad leaves him and his mum has to move from Chicago to a town no-one has ever heard of called Bomont. In which dancing is illegal following an accident years ago. Eventually the law gets lifted when the guy makes the Reverend (who controls the law) see that he is only enforcing the law because his son died in the accident, and it’s not helping anyone and they can’t move on.

The show was so good! Like I said, I didn’t know what to expect, but I’m glad I went because I loved it! It had a strong story, great music and amazing dancing. It was bright and uplifiting and just really really good. At the end Matt Willis got everyone up and dancing and clapping along and they stayed on stage for at least another 10 minutes. I love the Birmingham Hippodrome as well, which makes it better, such a lovely theatre. 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Other Posts

Leave a Reply

